Summer Grant Work/Project Based Learning – Part 1

As I’m doing my summer reading of Setting the Standards for Project Based Learning, I continue to reflect on my first 2 PBL units and consider how to best execute my summer grant work with two of my colleagues. During our pre-planning, we will be co-facilitating professional development for the Middle School faculty who will have also read the book and designed their own PBL units. One small concern I have is that most teachers in the same grade level may be planning to simultaneously implement their units. This could be a lot to put on students who may not be ready for this degree of autonomy and self-management, particularly since they may not be used to PBL or something like it such as design thinking. I particularly foresee some students who new to Mount Vernon struggling a little more since most, if not all, of their previous schools did not have a culture that embraces and encourages collaboration, innovation, and risk-taking.

Fortunately, I have witnessed the success of our faculty’s diligence in developing this kind of culture. I’ve been a MV fifth grade teacher for 8 years and have seen a huge transformation in the ways we are teaching and students are learning. When I began we were more of a traditional school, although I have to say – I was always encouraged to try new ideas and be creative. I did not begin to grow professionally at such a fast rate, however, until Brett Jacobsen became Head of School 7 years ago and then Chip Houston became Head of Middle School 4 years ago. These past few years have been very transformational and it’s been a blessing to be part of it.

My concern about student readiness for managing multiple PBL units is somewhat abated when I think about our extraordinary faculty and student body. I know we will address my concern in pre-planning and that we will work together to support all of our students like we always do. Moreover, when I think about our current students who can lead and help acclimate their peers, I find even more comfort.

A concern is not doubt or skepticism; it’s just a matter to be explored and examined. I feel like I have begun to do just that by verbalizing it here.

Leave a comment